How to Factory Default your Recorder Leave a comment


How to Factory Default Your Recorder

Hello everyone, from time to time we get questioned on how to factory default your recorder, and we wanted to take the time to explain how you would go about this process. We also want to take the time to explain why, and when it would be appropriate to use this option versus other options that might be available to you. Earlier this week we released an article very similar to the topic of how to factory default, which was how to perform a password reset. Often times we find that there is a little bit of confusion surrounding these concepts, when, and why to take advantage of them.

When you first purchase your recorder and power it on it is going to ask you to go through several different steps before you can use it to perform basic tasks like pulling footage, or setting up cameras. This is because, out of the box, your recorder is in what we call a ‘factory default’ state. The word ‘default’ has various meanings but is always some variation of ‘the use of the only options available when no other options are present.” In this context, it means the settings or lack of chosen settings within the recorder before it has ever been operated by the end-user. As mentioned earlier, when you first buy a recorder or camera it is in a ‘default’ state, you haven’t yet turned it on and given it information that would change its settings to be unique to your circumstances.

When you power on a recorder for the first time, this device must be initialized and this process will it out of its default state. When a recorder or camera is still factory default, there’s lots of information they do not have yet. For example, by default, the recorder’s primary user account name is “admin”, while in contrast the recorder does not even have a default password and must be given one.  While Factory Default, a recorder usually has a default IP address of 192.168.1.108 as is common per our equipment. Additionally, as you use the recorder there will be many parameters you change.

These changes can be made to many different options. Every camera you add puts information into the registry- which by default has no information. When you update the IP info on the recorder to be DHCP or static, and it pulls an IP from your router you have changed the setting from default. When you put in a new password or change the username for the admin account, this again is altering the factory default settings.

When we return the recorder to factory default, what we are doing is essentially erasing all local settings data from the recorder, and restoring it to a state similar to how it existed upon its very first boot-up. You might already see how this is different than something like a password change, or reset, but for clarity’s sake, we will elaborate on that. With a password reset, the only information that is changed is the password. In that process, all settings alterations you’ve made since day one stay the same, with only the password being erased. This gives the user the opportunity to choose a new password. Check out our article on Password Reset for more information.

While password resets are done mostly to resolve personnel issues, such as a lost or compromised password, or employment changes a factory default is a bit more thorough of a reset and so it’s used in specific circumstances. For example, if you decide to move your system to an entirely new location, with new network info, and new camera positions, it’s a great time to start fresh! If your configuration files become corrupted resulting ins strange behavior, a factory default could remove the corrupt config resolving the issue. You might simply not like the way you have the system configured, and desire to start over- in any case we can show you how to do this without an issue- it’s very simple.

For a recorder- you’re going to need a local mouse and monitor connected to it, as this should be performed from the local interface. If you normally log in with your pattern, know that some systems require you to enter the admin password to finalize the process. It’s best to approach this, knowing your password.  Bear in mind, that the factory default will also remove your current user info, camera info, and any other settings. The only thing that will not be erased is your hard disks and the footage that has been recorded so far. Again, to be 100% clear-  A FACTORY DEFAULT WILL NOT WIPE YOUR SYSTEM’S HARD DRIVES, AND YOUR FOOTAGE WILL REMAIN INTACT. There is a way to erase the HDD data if you need to, but that is called formatting and is another process entirely. Formatting is also an all or nothing process, you cannot erase ‘portions’ of your hard disk- only the entire disk. Factory Defaulting only affects the settings on the recorder itself and will leave the hard disks untouched.

To Factory default your recorder, start by logging into it using your password or pattern. You’ll need to access either the Operations menu on the first page or on some DVRs there’s a system maintenance option on page 2. From there, select ‘system maintain’. Ensure all the options are checked and click factory default at the bottom. Then watch the unit reboot, and when it comes back on it will back to a day one- factory defaulted state!

Thanks for joining us today as we talked about which CCTV Recorders are the best. For any questions on product compatibility, availability or any other information don’t hesitate to give our Sales Pro’s a call at561-288-5258 . Don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube Channel for more Tutorials and CCTV info. Until Next time, Stay Safe!

 

Related: What’s the difference between DVR and NVR?
Related: What’s the difference between H264 and H265?

Related: IP PTZ Security Cameras – All There is to Know
Related: Resolution, and why does it matter?
Related: What are active deterrence cameras?

Find Us On: Facebook | Twitter | YouTube





Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *