- Twitter rolled out the “soft block” for all web users on Monday.
- The feature lets you quietly remove your Twitter followers without resorting to blocking them.
- Here’s how to do it, in four steps.
This is colloquially known as a “soft block.” Anyone you remove as a follower will no longer see when you post or retweet things, and Twitter says it won’t notify them that you’ve removed them.
Twitter started testing in September, and announced it was rolling the feature out for all web users on Monday. It makes it “easier to be the curator of your own followers list,” Twitter said.
—Twitter Support (@TwitterSupport) October 11, 2021
Previously, users had to block and then quickly unblock a user to remove them as a follower.
Here’s how to remove a follower using the new feature.